spring wishlist

There’s nothing better than planning for and dreaming about a new season’s wardrobe. As I’m trying to be a more responsible consumer, I’ve found it really pays off to put that extra effort into thinking about what pieces will be true closet heroes. As I looked back at my a/w ’16 purchases, all the ones that I loved and wore the most were the ones that had lived on my wishlist and really been anticipated and planned for. So, while I’ve already made some spring purchases, here’s the wishlist of the mostly larger ticket items I’m still thinking about.

1 | a drapey, short-sleeve top 

TwoFoldFallWinter2016-110

Basically a shorter sleeve, lightened up version of my beloved Jamie & the Jones T top. This one, by Two Fold Clothing, is a color that I love but rarely wear. Since I’m trying to wear less black I think it could be a nice touch to all my ivories and nudes. In a more neutral palette, Elizabeth Suzann and Jamie & the Jones have great options as well.

2 | a jumpsuit

chanel-ulli

I’m currently obsessed with this raw silk Ulli jumpsuit by (new to me brand) Laurs Kemp. It’s one of those items that I’ve dreamed about for a while but never quite been able to pull the trigger on. I feel like I won’t really know how much use I’ll get out of it until I own it. But, Andrea at  Seasons & Salt convinced me that I really can wear it all the time. I’m picturing it alone with flat sandals in the summer, dressed up with heels and a clutch, over a fitted tee for work, and later in fall, layered over a cashmere crew or under a leather jacket. I also like the linen one by Only Child, and the one Andrea wears is by Reifhaus.

3 | a non-black layering piece

cardiff work coat

I definitely feel the need for a lightweight, lighter colored third piece jacket. It could be either a vest or a kimono style, but it has to have roomy pockets. I love my black Elizabeth Suzann kimono from fall, but I find myself wishing for pockets every time I wear it. Only Child’s Cardiff coat, above, fits the bill, as does the Alba vest by Reifhaus. I’m also into the idea of a denim duster, mainly thanks to Grechen. I like this one by Loup, but I’m wondering if denim would be harder to match – I mostly wear jeans and I’m afraid I’d get tired of denim on denim.

4 | light wash, vintage-fit denim

c2819_dm0963_m.jpg

Something a little lighter and looser for summer would be nice. Madewell’s “perfect summer jean” is a year-round classic at this point. As far as ethical brands go, the Jamie fit by Agolde looks pretty perfect. For something a little different, I’m feeling Madewell’s new retro crop bootcut in ecru.

5 | black mule flats

1613ce69db4b326c06c3151a0466ce08

I’ve already gotten a good bit of wear out of my new Nisolo mules, and I have a feeling a black pair would more than earn their keep. For an oh-so-slightly different silhouette, I like Eileen Fisher’s Blog slide, though it looks like my size is selling out everywhere. The Everlane modern loafer slide is nice as well, and so is the Madewell Barlow mule, shown above.

Leave a Reply

