spring wardrobe planning (& purchases so far)

I feel like my personal style is in a very different place from where it was last spring. In the past year, I’ve more or less stopped wearing skinny jeans, blazers and button-downs which used to be my go-to items. And I couldn’t be happier – I’ve embraced softer, slouchier shapes in higher quality natural fabrics, which always feel amazing. As I go into the spring season I wanted to get some of my thoughts down on “paper.”

1 | Describe your style in three words. Still happy with elevated | simple | cool

2 | Any style goals or shopping resolutions?

  • Plan out my purchases. I plan to avoid impulse purchases by keeping my wish list on my phone – no purchases that haven’t been on my wish list for at least a couple weeks. Also, when considering a last minute addition, compare the item to those on my wishlist.
  • Continue to shop responsibly and support independent designers. I fell in love with the small batch brands Jamie & the Jones and Elizabeth Suzann. My T top in olive has been my most loved and one of my most worn pieces of clothing for the past five months. I definitely want to continue to support them as well as some of the other brands I’ve been admiring, like Only Child.
  • Put more consideration into accessorizing. I still feel a little forced when I wear scarves, and I often forget to put on my great jewelry. I think it’s just a matter of practice/habit and experimentation.

3 | List three new things you want to try.

  • Master the wide leg pant silhouette. I’ve worn my Everlane wide-leg pants once so far and loved them; just need to play around with different outfit combinations and styling.
  • Try more monochrome looks. I especially want to try an all white/flax/tan combination.
  • Wear less black. Especially as we move into summer, I want to focus more on lighter neutrals and lighter denim washes.

4 | What types of activities do you need clothing for this season? I’ll need clothing for my usual everyday activities: elevated casual wear for work, and casual with an edge for low-key evening activities. I do have an out-of-town wedding in Savannah, but I think I have my special occasion wardrobe locked down already. I also want to be more mindful of dressing for the heat – no more sticky legs in skinny denim or polyester pits.

5 | Select outfit formulas. What types of outfits do you want to wear for your most common activities?

  • loose, not-too-long top + straight, cropped-ish denim + mid block heel
  • drapey kimono or vest + semi-fitted top + straight, cropped-ish denim + mid block heel
  • semi-fitted top + high-waist wide leg pant + flat
  • either top silhouette + a-line mini + flat

6 | What colors do you want to wear this season? For now, my palette will be quite similar to my a/w palette. Main colors of olive, white and flax; foundation colors of black and denim; accents of blush, cognac and poppy red. For summer, I want to try to treat black as more of an accent color in my wardrobe – I may even pack away my black skinny denim once we get to July temperatures.

I’ve already done some spring prep shopping – here are the five pieces I’ve bought so far:

  1. the Everlane wide-leg crop pant in bone – aka the starter Kamm pant. I’ve been wanted to give this pant shape a try and kudos to Everlane for doing a really high quality version at an affordable price. The fabric feels sturdy yet soft and the fit is flattering.
  2. a vintage suede skirt – basically a tan suede version of the button-front denim mini I wore into the ground last year. I’ve already worn it once with a black long-sleeve, but I really can’t wait for warmer temps to pair it with floaty blouses and tanks.
  3. Nisolo Mariella mule in sand – so happy I nabbed these before they sold out. I’ve been wanting to try this brand, and these shoes were exactly the easy style I wanted for spring.
  4. two new Everlane tees, because I had to. Their box-cut tee has long been my favorite, but I’ve always wished it had no pocket. Thanks to the good people at Everlane, my dreams have come true and two pocketless box-cut tees (one in white, one black and white stripe) are currently on their way to me.
  5. a pair of Gap jeans – Gap did a surprisingly good version of the high-waist, wide-leg crop silhouette in soft, low-stretch denim. I know they’re not a particularly ethical brand but for me, sometimes it still makes more sense to start with an inexpensive version of a more experimental item.
Leave a Reply

