fall wardrobe planning

2016-03-0917-26-10

 

My 10×10 challenge made me see that my wardrobe is in serious need of a tweaking. I know what I want my looks to say: ELEVATED, SIMPLE, COOL. Now I just need to make the pieces in my wardrobe convey that look and work for my lifestyle. I loosely followed Into Mind’s free wardrobe planner and here’s what I came up with.

1| Describe your goal style in 3 words. Done and done. It is the title of this blog.

2| Do you have any style goals or shopping resolutions? Where do I begin? I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, and I have several:

  • Shop for quality, not quantity. I know this phrase gets tossed around a lot, but as I was writing about my 10×10 I realized that I own very few pieces that are over a year old.
  • When shopping, think about outfits, not just pieces. Even though I gravitate towards simple pieces, I still end up with items that I only really wear with one other thing.
  • Feel good about every addition to my wardrobe. I recently bought a blouse from Banana, wore it once, it snagged, and I realized I wasn’t even that sad to see it go. No bueno.
  • Shop responsibly and support independent brands and makers that are producing beautiful goods. I will attempt to make all new purchases from brands that focus on environmental sustainability and/or ethical labor practices. That being said, I’m not about to toss out all of my Banana Republic jeans just to replace them with new made-in-the-USA denim. That seems just as unresponsible as buying mainstream brands in the first place. Instead, I plan to keep wearing my current faves until they wear out.

3| List 3 new things you want to try.

  • Break away from skinny jeans. I really want to try slouchy straight and cropped kick flare jeans, and I definitely need a non-jean option in my closet.
  • Try more slouchy, drapey top silhouettes. I’ve always liked loose on top + fitted on bottom, which I usually accomplish with a loose button down or a blazer paired with my skinny jeans. I want to shake it up a little with softer, slouchier tops, cardigans and kimono-style jackets.
  • Accessorize. I like simple, streamlined looks, but I would like to elevate them with just a few accessories. My black felt fedora from last fall needs more love, and I’d love to try either a silk neck scarf or a cool, artisanal statement necklace.

4| What types of activities will you need clothing for this season? I’ll need clothing for my usual, everyday activities: elevated casual wear for work, slightly edgy casual wear for low-key dinner dates and friend hangouts, and comfy casual wear for errands, dog-walking, etc. In addition, I’ve got one trip planned to Nashville in November, and I’ll need a semi-formal getup for Joey’s office holiday party.

5| Select outfit formulas. What types of outfits will you wear for your three most common activities?

  • lightweight long-sleeve + high-waist slim pant + heeled bootie or loafer
  • slouchy cardigan + simple layering top + high-waist slim pant + heeled bootie
  • semi-fitted pullover + slouchy pant + heeled bootie

6| What colors do you want to wear this season?

  • main colors: olive green, white/ivory, and heather grey
  • neutrals: black and denim
  • accents: poppy red, camel, cognac, blush nude

7| What are your most important key pieces this season?

Leave a Reply

